

June 14, 2021

Dr. Mary J. C. Hendrix President Shepherd University 301 North King Street Post Office Box 5000 Shepherdstown, WV 25443

Dear President Hendrix:

West Virginia Code §18B-4-7 delegates the responsibility for annual reauthorization of all degree-granting higher education institutions to the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission (Commission) and West Virginia Council for Community and Technical College Education. In part, the provisions of the Code state the following:

"To retain the authority to confer degrees pursuant to this section, each institution shall provide annually to the commission or council, as requested, all information the commission or council considers necessary to assess the performance of the institution and determine whether the institution continues to meet the minimum standards for conferring degrees."

In order to fulfill its statutory responsibility, the Commission adopted Series 52, *Annual Reauthorization of Degree-Granting Institutions*. The policy defines the specific documentation that is required to be submitted annually November 1 by all degree-granting higher education institutions within the state. Upon review of documentation and recommendation of the compliance review committee, institutions that are found to be in compliance with generally accepted parameters of operation are recommended to the Commission for reauthorization.

At its meeting on June 11, 2021, the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission approved the reauthorization of Shepherd University to confer degrees within West Virginia.

If you have questions regarding the annual reauthorization process, please contact the Higher Education Policy Commission, Office for Academic Affairs at (304) 558-0261.

Sincerely,

the date

Sarah Armstrong Tucker, Ph.D. Chancellor

Cc: Ms. Sara Maene, Keyholder, Shepherd University
Dr. Ben Martz, Interim Provost, Shepherd University
Dr. Jason Best, Assistant Provost for Distance Education & Strategic Research Initiatives,
Shepherd University
Dr. Corley F. Dennison, III, Vice Chancellor Emeritus, Policy Commission
Ms. Nikki Bryant, Director of Academic Programming, Policy Commission
1018 Kanawha Boulevard, East, Suite 700 • Charleston, West Virginia 25301 • (304) 558-2101 • www.wvhepc.edu