## Shepherd University Board of Governors

## Minutes of the Meeting of July 10, 2008

The Shepherd University Board of Governors met on July 10, 2008 for the statutory Annual Meeting. Members participating were: Lauri Bridgeforth [phone], Gat Caperton, Mary Clare Eros, Doris Griffin, Robert McMillan [phone], Andrew Michael, Lacy I. Rice III [phone] and Diane Shewbridge. Also present were Shepherd University President Suzanne Shipley, members of the executive staff and others. Board members Anders Henriksson and W. Mark Rudolph were absent from the meeting.

Chairman McMillan convened the meeting of the Board of Governors at 2:00 p.m.

## 1. <u>ELECTIONS OF OFFICERS</u>

Ms. Griffin nominated a slate of Mr. McMillan as Chair, Ms. Eros as Vice Chair, and Mr. Caperton as Secretary. There were no other nominations; **M** (Griffin), S (Bridgeforth) **PASSED**, that the officer slate be elected; members participating by phone were polled individually.

Following this election of officers, the Chair nominated Mr. Rudolph, Ms. Eros and Mr. Rice to be members of the Audit Committee, with Mr. Rudolph to act as its chair. There were no other nominations; **M** (Caperton) S (Griffin) PASSED, that the slate be elected as the Audit Committee.

## 2. <u>CAPITAL FUNDING PRIORITIES</u>

President Shipley presented the capital project funding priorities and discussed the nature of the list, which establishes the funding priorities for the next HEPC bond issuance. The Chancellor has indicated that auxiliaries projects will not be funded in that manner.

**M (Eros) S (Caperton) PASSED**, [members participating by phone were individually polled] That the Shepherd University Board of Governors approves the Capital Funding Priorities as presented in the July 10, 2008 agenda book, and authorizes the President to file the Capital Funding Priorities on its behalf to the Higher Education Policy Commission.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Robert A. McMillan Chair

Gat Caperton Secretary

Shepherd University Board of Governors June 2008 Consent Agenda Item 1-1